top of page
Search

Holding a position as a new member by Catron Arnold

In September of 2020, I ran home to Xi Chapter of Alpha Delta Pi at Ohio University. 2020… smack dab in the height of the COVID-19 pandemic. This being said, my bid day did not encompass a big celebration chock full of good music, glitter, balloons, and unforgettable memories. Instead, I was in my living room with my dog and my virtual invitation to bid day over Zoom. My first year of college was looking unconventional to say the least.

The remainder of my semester was spent online, at home in Lexington, Kentucky; this proved to be difficult in many ways. I found my mental health declining, and my anxiety rising in fear of missing the “good ole days” that college provides. My FOMO was substantial, and I knew that I needed a mood booster, or at least something to keep me preoccupied until I was fortunate enough to be allowed on campus.

When my chapter announced that elections for positions were about to open for the following year, I was ecstatic. I was certain that having a position would allow me to meet more of the amazing people in ADPi, in addition to giving me a sense of purpose in this seemingly hopeless time. On a whim, I ran for Director of Diversity and Inclusion and I was appointed the position.

I am so honored to have been given this position, and so exhilarated because I am deeply passionate about building a more inclusive Greek community. This was the first year that this position was available for Alpha Delta Pi, and I am the first to hold it in my chapter. Although this means that I did not have someone to “show me the ropes,” I am able to pave my own way with what I hope to accomplish within this position.

At first, there were still things that I was hesitant about. For example, I am so young compared to many of the people in my chapter; what if I came across as a “try hard” or “overbearing?” However, these worries were immediately dissolved when my position was embraced with so much love and support from my chapter. I felt immensely proud of not only the work that I had done, but also to be a part of such an accepting community.

The efforts made by, not only me, but the Diversity and Inclusion Committee of Xi chapter this semester have been nothing short of upstanding. Nowadays, there are so many disparities that marginalized groups face daily becoming known, and it is so important to be educated on these issues. In ADPi, we want to make sure that everyone feels welcome, accepted, and supported. Our committee has implemented actionable steps to continue making everyone feel this way; from sharing microaggressions at our weekly meetings to providing workshops that inform us on how to maintain an inclusive community.

I started my first year very uncertain of how my college career would look. Amid the pandemic, I felt lost. In my sorority, I was in fear of how “taking on too much” as a new member would be perceived. However, I was accepted into Alpha Delta Pi as Director of Diversity and Inclusion with nothing but grace and love. I have had the opportunity do very meaningful work within this organization, and I could not be more thankful.

40 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page