top of page
Search

"I was unsure about #GoingGreek, but it was the best decision I could have made" by Olivia Casey

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted to feel like I belonged somewhere. Throughout my life so far, I never really knew who I was. Changing who I was felt like the solution to this problem, but I could not have been more wrong. It can be so hard to feel like you're accepted and have a place in this world. Your worth is so important and you need to surround yourself with people who help you feel this way. Going greek has been a way to help with all of these aspects, and has easily been one of the best choices I have made so far.


I never saw myself as a “sorority girl”. The media tends to portray certain aspects of the lifestyle in a totally different way than what it really is. While finding ways to become involved at Ohio University I stumbled across recruitment. After I thought about it for some time I decided to sign up. There were multiple times I thought about backing out, I was so nervous about finding a place where I could be completely myself. I was that girl who spent hours on Instagram stalking each chapter and watching all of their story highlights. Going into the first round was so intimidating to me, especially since it was virtual at the time, I had no idea what to expect. As soon as I started talking to all of the amazing women, I knew that I was so wrong about Greek life. These are people who are so accepting, understanding, and caring. They help you bring out the best version of yourself and cheer you on along the way. We all support each other; we celebrate the good times and handle the hard ones. This isn’t just a sorority, it’s a family.


Moving to campus was a completely different story. Due to COVID, I was in the phase of students who weren't able to move in until mid-January. Again, the thoughts of not feeling accepted or finding a place to belong filled my mind. I was so worried that all of the women I had met virtually wouldn't like who I was as a person. Just like how I felt about recruitment, I was so wrong. When I got to campus there was so much support and love. Everyone reached out to each other and was so eager to meet in person. I have made the most beautiful friendships over the past 4 months and it's only getting started. Joining a sorority gave me a home at college. It's made a large campus feel small. This is easily the happiest I have been in a very long time, and I owe a huge thank you to ADPi and Greek life for that.


I am only at the start of my time as a sorority woman. There is still so much that I have to experience and learn along the way. But I have to say if you are on the fence about going Greek, just try it out! It’s important to trust your gut and do what you feel is best. Follow the women who make you feel like sunshine. Be unapologetically yourself, and don’t let anyone change who you are.


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page