top of page
Search

Rushing as a sophomore by Cat Sommer

Updated: Mar 18, 2021

Going into college I knew that I wanted to take part in Greek life. I had watched all the YouTube videos on what recruitment was like, what to wear, and more bid day vlogs than I’d like to admit. I dreamt of finding a home away from home, and as soon as I committed to Ohio University, I followed all the Instagram accounts, looked at all of the social medias, and reached out to friends who were currently involved.


I got nothing but raving reviews, from multiple chapters, and as soon as the sign up opened for primary recruitment my freshman year, I filled out the application and began counting down the days until not only school began, but until recruitment started.


Many people say that the process is exhausting, and that they don’t know if they could go through it more than once. For me, it was exhilarating. There were so many names and faces, so many new stories and experiences shared, and I loved all of it, every single minute. I created a very close bond with my Rho Gam, Sara, and a couple of friends in my recruitment group that I have until this day.


Sadly, due to unforeseen and extenuating circumstances, I had to drop out of my freshman year recruitment. This isn’t uncommon, and many girls have been through a similar situation. I was disappointed, to say the least, and crushed, to say the most.


I was fortunate enough to find friends, both in and out of Greek life, who made my freshman year nothing but incredible.Although my freshman year was amazing, I always felt that something was missing, and that something was sisterhood. So, when signups for primary recruitment rolled around again for my sophomore year, I sat in front of my computer, and a million thoughts raced through my mind. Would it be wrong to go through again? Would I be treated differently? Would houses I had already been to think it was weird? Would I be dropped because I was older?


It took me every ounce of courage I had to sign up again, but I am so glad that I did because the answer to every single one of those questions was no. No, it was not weird to go back to the houses that I had already been to. In fact, some girls remembered me and made it a point to say hello. No, I was not dropped because I was a sophomore. If anything, it gave me more to talk about, and connect with the girls who were on the other side of recruitment. I made great bonds with the freshman in my recruitment group because I could answer questions about campus life and college in general.


Going through recruitment a second time was nerve wracking, but it was meant to be. I found my forever friends in my sorority, and my forever home with ADPi. I would not have wanted to end up anywhere else, and I know that it was fate that I found my place at 101 S. Court Street!


Some advice that I would give to those who are rushing, or considering rushing as a sophomore, is that I not only recommend it, but advocate for it. You already have your friends from freshman year, and a life outside of Greek life. Going Greek introduced me to a whole new world of people and places. It is great to be able to have that balance.


Also, as a sophomore you know more of who you are, of what you want, and what type of organization that you want to be a part of. The confidence of already having a year on campus makes the process smoother, and I would argue more fun.


Rushing as a sophomore was one of the best decisions of my life, and it can be for you too. Some may be skeptical, and I know that I’ve mentioned fate having a lot to do with it, but that Rho Gam from my freshman year, you might remember her as Sara, ended up being my GGBig. Life works in mysterious ways, and sisterhood does so even more.

I encourage everyone to go through recruitment, even if you’re unsure, even if you’re skeptical, even if you’re a sophomore, because you will find friends, you will find family, and you will find your home, mine just happened to be with the women of ADPi.


Trust the process! Give recruitment a chance, even as a sophomore.

122 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page