top of page
Search

Being a legacy in ADPI by Kasey DeWalt

Updated: Jun 5, 2020

Every woman in my family has been in Greek life. My grandmas, aunts, older cousins, and my mom have all been in a sorority. Greek life is where they met their bridesmaids and best friends. My mom still zooms with her sorority sisters a few times a month even though they all live far apart now and live different lives. Because of this, I have always known I wanted to join a sorority as well. 


My mom was in Alpha Delta Pi. This means, yes, I am a legacy. When I came to Ohio University and realized they had an Alpha Delta Pi chapter on campus, I truly believed I was not going to end up in that chapter. To be perfectly honest, I just didn’t want to copy my mom and be in the same sorority as her. I wanted to go through recruitment and figure out where I wanted to be myself; which is how it should be. However, when I started recruitment during the Fall of 2018, my opinion about being in ADPI completely changed. I absolutely loved Alpha Delta Pi. Every round it was the only house that I made a connection with every single girl I talked to. Every sister of Alpha Delta Pi that talked to me genuinely wanted to learn about me and accepted me for who I was. I specifically remember talking to a senior, Brie Boothby, during recruitment, and she had told me my personality and characteristics would be valued in this chapter and that no one would make me change who I was. This was so important to me, and I knew right then and there these women would encourage me and strengthen me throughout my college career. Preference night at Alpha Delta Pi, I was sold. This was my home. 


I vividly remember calling my Mom after I had just ranked and put ADPI as my number one choice. I started crying and told her ADPI was my home and the women had stolen my heart. My mom then started sternly talking to me. She asked, “You are not allowed to go in ADPI because of me. This is your decision and should have nothing to do with me. Do you promise you made this decision on your own and it didn’t involve being a legacy?” I then replied, “Mom, this had nothing to do with you being in ADPI or being a legacy. The women in ADPI never asked me about you or brought up the fact I was a legacy. They genuinely like me for me and it is where I belong” My Mom’s tone then quickly changed. She was so happy for me and was so excited to hear I found somewhere at college that I could call home. 

Now, not only is my mom my mother, but she’s now my sorority sister! It is so cool and has allowed me to connect with my mom in a different way. ADPI has allowed me to become closer with my mom and bond in ways that were not possible before. 


However, one piece of advice I have to anyone rushing, DO NOT PICK A HOUSE JUST BECAUSE YOU ARE A LEGACY! Sororities are different at every school and even vary year to year at the same chapter. When you are going through recruitment, you need to make sure you are choosing the house that YOU can see yourself in. Not your mom, not your grandma, YOU!These are the women that will be your bridesmaids and friends for life. It is really cool being in the same sorority as my mom, but it’s even cooler that we both separately found our home in the same place. I choose ADPI not because of mom, but because I knew these women would be my best friends for life. 



62 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page