top of page
Search

Tips for making friends by Lucy Tschetter

Last year I moved from Roswell, Georgia to Athens, Ohio without a single friend or single idea on how to make new ones. I had always been overly social in high school, but the idea of making new friends in college intimidated me. After my mom and I said our goodbyes on move in day, I sat in a room that felt nothing like home with four strangers who would be my roommates for the next year. My mom used to always tell me, “There’s nothing quite like the friends you make in college.” How was I supposed to tell her that I was terrified of even talking to new people? It took some time, but I eventually understood exactly what my mom meant. Here are some tips that helped me go from being too anxious to even say hello to someone on Court Street, to meeting the best friends I have ever had at Ohio University.


The first tip that I have is to GET INVOLVED! Whether it be in Greek life, student organizations, university events, or just in the dorm that you will live in, it is extremely important to put yourself out there. Getting involved in different groups is a great way to meet people outside of your major or comfort zone. I know it is easier said than done, but a positive attitude can change that world. I remember being so nervous to participate in anything because I carried the fear and uncertainty of possible failed friendships and awkward encounters with me at all times. When you realize that the only thing holding you back is you, a lot of things can change. My roommates became my soulmates, my sorority sisters turned into my role models, and other people in my major kept me afloat all year. Please get involved - If you make one friend, or 100 friends, it will have been worth it!


The second tip I have is to SAY YES! I understand that it can be hard to push yourself to do things outside of your comfort zone, but how are you supposed to grow if you are always comfortable. It took me a while to learn this, but always say yes! Whether it be date parties, basketball games, or even a coffee date, GO. You will have a stronger relationship and happier heart if you say yes, regardless of how uncomfortable it may make you. I’m not saying that if someone asks you to commit a crime you should say yes! I’m simply saying that life is too short to let anxiety take control of the best years of your life. I can’t count all the times I said no and regretted it after doing so. DO MORE! SAY YES!


The last tip I have is to BE CONFIDENT AND KIND! Shortly after joining ADPI at the beginning of the year, something happened that I still think about to this day. I was at Starbucks getting a coffee before class and I saw that one of the girls in my pledge class was also waiting for her drink. She saw me and immediately walked over and started talking to me; asking me questions about how classes were going and how I was. It was the smallest act of kindness and it made such a big difference. Since then, I always strive to be as kind and confident as my sister was when she started a conversation without even knowing me.


I know from experience that making friends in a new environment can be overwhelming and nerve wrecking, but getting involved, saying yes, and always being kind will help you feel more comfortable with getting to know the people around you. Yes, college is about the academics, but life is made for good friends and great adventures. I hope that these tips help you find your soulmates, sisters, and best friends, and if you ever need an extra friend, you know where to find me!

172 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page